Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by Tenchman7 on 25 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2017
5
reviewed by Bobby Colin's on 1 August 2017
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2017
4
reviewed by Ivaylo Ivanov on 5 August 2016
1
reviewed by symonh on 7 March 2016
5
reviewed by HonestTam on 16 January 2016
5

1.8T 20v Turbo

reviewed by bikeman on 15 November 2014
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
3
Running costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the garage or specialist
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

145,000 miles and going strong

I picked up this GTI 20V 1.8T from a friend for £500. At 11 years old with 145,000 miles the engine doesn't show any sign of wear. The same cannot be said for the paintwork which has a lot of scratches and the recaro seats and plastic trim are showing a lot of wear.

About town the ride can only be described as harsh with the suspension failing to soak up bumps which are transmitted through the cabin with the resulting trim rattles - I wince when approaching pot holes. The clutch is heavy and the gear change is quite slow - often a struggle to get into first and second - not much fun in the traffic light grandprix.

On the open road the car comes into it's own, effortlessly making brisk progress yet returning 38-42mpg! Many view GTIs as boy racers cars but being able to effortlessly pass slower moving traffic results in a safer drive without frustration (and the resultant risk taking).

Reliablity has been good - a couple of ignition coils and that's about it apart from the usual service items. It's still on the original exhaust and clutch.

I'll probably run this car into the deck and I reckon there is easily another 100,000 miles left in her.

*****update nov 2014 ****
3 years on and now 160,000 miles. 2nd gear synchro now weak. Only issues apart from routine servicing have been a couple fo thermostats and replacement of the lower front wishbones.
I think the original clutch is on it's last legs but I'm not sure I can justify the expense so it may be the scrapyard for the old girl which would be a shame.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by T5SUG on 29 November 2013
3
reviewed by Bollo79 on 13 May 2013
1
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
4
reviewed by thewigger on 28 February 2013
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2013
1
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
4
reviewed by nigel pb on 5 September 2011
1
reviewed by conorblonde on 21 February 2011
3
reviewed by ema_89 on 15 December 2010
1
reviewed by Spamspamspam on 12 December 2010
5
reviewed by JaxxB on 24 November 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous