Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by Tenchman7 on 25 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2017
5
reviewed by Bobby Colin's on 1 August 2017
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2017
4
reviewed by Ivaylo Ivanov on 5 August 2016
1
reviewed by symonh on 7 March 2016
5

Golf mk 4 variant

reviewed by HonestTam on 16 January 2016
5
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Brilliant, solid, and reliable, nicest looking of all the Golfs

The Golf Mk4 1.6 is am excellent car. I have created an Honestjohn account just to write this up.
Bought a 9 year-old Golf Mk4 1.6 petrol estate in 2013 to replace a much younger Volvo V50 which needed too much work done to justify keeping.
The Golf just runs. At 125,000 miles it's still solid. Other cars I've known have bitten the dust by this age, but the Golf just keeps going. The engine, bodywork, mechanics and electrics are all good.
Only problem are: light buzzer works intermittently. Minor water leaks when there's major rain - apparently the sunroof drains need cleared regularly - garage did this for a tenner.
Bigger turning circle than I anticipated.

The interior is well put together and I've no complaints - the Volvo, five years younger, was falling to bits in comparison - the Golf is just solid. On our version, there are few thrills: no sat nav or cruise control, but - with the exception of the buzzer that tells you you've left your lights on - all works.

Our car is driven from Scotland to Devon and back at least three times a year, as well as the school run, generally running around, and everything in between.

Buy one and treat it with the same care as a new car and it'll just run, and you'll also have a good looking classic in another decade's time.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by bikeman on 15 November 2014
4
reviewed by T5SUG on 29 November 2013
3
reviewed by Bollo79 on 13 May 2013
1
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
4
reviewed by thewigger on 28 February 2013
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2013
1
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
4
reviewed by nigel pb on 5 September 2011
1
reviewed by conorblonde on 21 February 2011
3
reviewed by ema_89 on 15 December 2010
1
reviewed by Spamspamspam on 12 December 2010
5
reviewed by JaxxB on 24 November 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous