Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by Tenchman7 on 25 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2017
5
reviewed by Bobby Colin's on 1 August 2017
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2017
4
reviewed by Ivaylo Ivanov on 5 August 2016
1
reviewed by symonh on 7 March 2016
5
reviewed by HonestTam on 16 January 2016
5
reviewed by bikeman on 15 November 2014
4
reviewed by T5SUG on 29 November 2013
3
reviewed by Bollo79 on 13 May 2013
1
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
4

GT TDi PD130

reviewed by thewigger on 28 February 2013
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Doesn't handle, super comfy, bomb-proof, cheap to run, goes like stink

Quality is brilliant - the doors shut with a very heavy sounding thud, probably because they are pretty heavy but I would not like to be the driver of another car in an accident.

There are the usual concerns here - front windows rattle alarmingly when lowered and the doors are closed. The washer pipe in the tailgate has come off and now doesn't deliver water to the rear screen - there's possibly a horrid mess inside the tailgate that I'll discover on the day I manage to work out how to get the trim off the inside of the boot and fix this thing...

To drive, it's best to accept serene progress anywhere other than the motorway - it does not corner well with the soft setup and enormously heavy diesel unit in the front. That said, if you want something that goes round corners like it's on rails you should get a petrol or look elsewhere.

What this variant is great at is making a long motorway journey feel much less shorter than it is in reality. It's completely effortless to drive fast and eats the miles at a rate that is not expected for a car of this size. The engine is an absolute gem and I regularly achieve 50mpg in regular everyday driving; mix of traffic crawls and a 12 mile trundle down the M4 at 60-odd-mph.

What's more remarkable is the mileage I'll get out of a tank on a run to the West Country - high forties and we would not be snoozing on the way down.

Even better than that, is the fact that it's done 200k and not missed a beat, all on the original clutch. Nothing major apart from the damned timing belts and regular consumables; it's on a fixed interval service schedule so oil changes roughly every 10k miles, and I've had a Terraclean done and use a Millers Oils additive (I purchased the car with 170k).

You only need to see how many of these are on the road, and in what decent condition they seem to be to get an idea of how robust they are.

Choose the right engine and it will be a great, cheap runabout that's capable of covering the distance when you need it.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2013
1
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
4
reviewed by nigel pb on 5 September 2011
1
reviewed by conorblonde on 21 February 2011
3
reviewed by ema_89 on 15 December 2010
1
reviewed by Spamspamspam on 12 December 2010
5
reviewed by JaxxB on 24 November 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous