Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by Tenchman7 on 25 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2017
5
reviewed by Bobby Colin's on 1 August 2017
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2017
4
reviewed by Ivaylo Ivanov on 5 August 2016
1
reviewed by symonh on 7 March 2016
5
reviewed by HonestTam on 16 January 2016
5
reviewed by bikeman on 15 November 2014
4
reviewed by T5SUG on 29 November 2013
3
reviewed by Bollo79 on 13 May 2013
1
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
4
reviewed by thewigger on 28 February 2013
3

GTi 1.8t

reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2013
3
Overall rating
4
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
2
Running costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the garage or specialist
3
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Expensive and disappointing but I still like it

I love the look and feel of my Golf, it looks and feels really solid inside and out. It's almost eleven years old and up until very recently didn't have any rust, when you clean in it still looks like new.

It is the perfect warm hatch for me, the turbo is fun and it handles ok as well. Some people criticize it for not being fast enough and not handling well enough but it depends what you want, for me it's speed and handling are perfect. It is very refined and lovely and quiet, it feels a lot younger than it is to drive, it is smooth and comfortable.

Inside, it still feels really modern and up to date and has lots of gadgets that I enjoy like heated seats and climatronic air conditioning. The sports seats are very comfortable and look nice as well.

I have, however, had no end of problems with it, I have now had to replace all the bushes front and back, I've had water leaks from hoses and the engine hasn't run right since I've owned it. It currently needs lots of little things doing to it but all cost far too much money to justify considering what it's worth and it's age. Rust has recently started to come through on the roof but I don't think that's too bad considering it's age (although I am still disappointed by this).

I'm not sure if it's just my car but the gearbox is terrible and very annoying.

The main problem is that it's a very complicated old car and the parts cost a fortune, it's never broken down on me but always needs something expensive doing to it, I've now given up trying to keep on top of it and am looking forward to trading it in as soon as possible.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
4
reviewed by nigel pb on 5 September 2011
1
reviewed by conorblonde on 21 February 2011
3
reviewed by ema_89 on 15 December 2010
1
reviewed by Spamspamspam on 12 December 2010
5
reviewed by JaxxB on 24 November 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous