Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Visitors flock to Race Retro

Published 27 February 2018

Legendary racing drivers, World Rally Champions and record crowds gathered at this year’s Race Retro, powered by Motor Sport, with 23,100 attendees over the three-days - a 10% increase on 2017.

Hall of Fame inductee Brian Redman was amongst the many guests at Stoneleigh Park, along with rally driver Miki Biasion, who was celebrating 30 years since his first WRC win. Both shared stories from their careers and signed hundreds of autographs for adoring fans.

Other famous motoring names attending included Jimmy and Alister McRae, Jaguar test driver Norman Dewis, Rosemary Smith, Bron Burrell, and Tony Mason.

The show brought together a mix of rarely seen racing and rally cars including the McLaren M14a, Dan Gurney’s last Formula One car, and a tribute to 40 years of 'ground effects' with a display including the Lotus 79, Williams FW07, a Porsche 956, and a freshly restored Chevron B48 that had not been seen for more than 30 years.

Race Retro 1018 (2)

Rally legend Miki Biasion at the wheel of Lancia Fulvia Coupe.

There were also tributes to 30 years of Jaguar’s success at Le Mans with the winning XKR9, and four cars from Prodrive to encapsulate the career of Hall of Fame inductee David Richards.

From rallying, the Miki Biasion-inspired line-up included the Lancia 037, Ford Sierra Sapphire Cosworth and Lancia Delta Intergrale he drove in period. Miki also got back behind the wheel of the Sapphire on the Live Rally Stage as well as a beautifully restored Lancia Fulvia that stepped in when the Delta had mechanical issues.

Rallying with Group B delivered ‘the best rally stage ever’ at Race Retro according to former rally champion Russell Brookes as around 80 cars, including more than 20 from the Group B era, provided spectators with thrill after thrill on the bespoke stage, which had a new layout for 2018 which allowed more cars to run at the same time.

Visitors voted Jim Angliss’ modified 1967 Ford Anglia 105E as the winner of this year’s Pride of the Paddock award, with Mike Mayfield’s 1986 Lada Samara a close second. In the Retro & Café Racer competition, last year’s runner up Ken Perch took the win with his 1962 Honda CB92 with Steve Taylor’s 1963 BSA Rocket Goldstar café racer in second place.

Race Retro (4) (1)

The next Race Retro will be held on 22-24 February 2019. For the latest updates as well as all the highlights from 2018’s event, visit

Race Retro


Add a comment


Compare classic car insurance quotes and buy online. A friendly service offering access to a range of policies and benefits.

Get a quote