Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Citroen Xsara Picasso (2000 - 2010)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 February 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 February 2020
4
reviewed by mike150256 on 4 October 2017
5

1.6 HDi (92) Exclusive People Carrier

reviewed by PauliePower on 24 December 2015
5
Overall rating
3
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the garage or specialist
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Not the coolest car but reliable and practical

I bought my Picasso secondhand from a dealer in September 2009 with 31,000 on the clock. It's now on 106,000 so I'm giving my report on ownership, I'm not planning on changing it any time soon.

Apart from servicing, tyres (many, usually fronts, rears barely wear), and brakes (front pads/disks changed twice), I've had to get the rear brake cylinders changed twice as they seem to fail. Also, the backbox on the exhaust needed replacing for the last MOT, but only because the hangers had rusted off and couldn't be repaired. It went through a period of blowing headlight bulbs last winter (they're not fun to change), but it's behaving itself now. Also in winter months I run 100% screenwash in the washer bottle, otherwise it tends to freeze and blow the fuse for the washers. Ask me how I know!

I need to mention fuel economy, which is excellent. Around town I can usually manage 50MPG, but get it on a motorway with the cruise control locked to 65 and it will do 65+MPG all day long. I usually average around 57MPG, but it seems to sit around 60 in warmer months.

What doesn't work? The A/C died a couple of years ago but I still haven't gotten around to getting it fixed. Also, some of the bulbs behind the instruments have died or at least become intermittent, the one behind the climate control panel in particular has been dark for a while, but I've owned the car long enough to know what all the buttons do.

The car has been completely 100% reliable. It starts every day without fail and hasn't even hinted at going wrong. The engine tends to smoke a little under heavy load, but only when I'm really booting it. This may be due to the dreaded turbo oil seals issue that this engine is plagued with, but I haven't seen any other evidence to support this, it doesn't really use any oil. The clutch and battery are still original with no issues.

I replaced the factory stereo with a cheap Sony from Halfords, I wanted an AUX in and the factory model sounds a bit pants. This does mean I've lost the steering wheel controls but I can live with that. On the subject of audio, the door panels tend to rattle a little at higher volumes, especially in the rear.

The interior has held up well with the miles, and even my young family hasn't managed to damage anything. Good job for that, Citroen! I need to mention the impressive amount of stuff this car can shift, especially with the rear seats removed (very easy to do this). It's been a moving van for myself and family members over the years. With all the seats in, it'll take five adults comfortably, as proven on a work trip last year.

In terms of driving experience, you have to remember that this is a small MPV and not a hot hatch. It does roll quite badly in corners and understeers easily, especially in the wet although I don't really spend big money on tyres ("four of your cheapest, please..."). The gear selection is entertainingly sloppy, even now I still miss 2nd and get 4th, but the car is known for it so I can't really complain. I do with it had a 6th though, sometimes I catch myself trying to change up from 5th on dual carriageways.

I think that covers it. Running costs are very reasonable, tax is (currently) about £120 for the year, and insurance is cheap too. It's a good car to have, and I would recommend one, but just make sure it's got a service history.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by AlanH65 on 28 October 2015
5
reviewed by simonhickie on 21 June 2015
3
reviewed by duncan bladen on 16 July 2014
4
reviewed by frmarcus66 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by minardifans on 10 January 2014
4
reviewed by CXDave on 24 September 2013
4
reviewed by Viktormildew on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by derek1808 on 14 February 2011
5
reviewed by simonhickie on 14 February 2011
3
reviewed by chingfordboyracer on 15 October 2010
4
reviewed by boomerang2 on 30 June 2010
4
reviewed by poppoppie on 4 June 2010
1
reviewed by jamesozzy2001 on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by citbloke
4
submitted by PortJac
4
submitted by bola