Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Ford Focus (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by John F on 29 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 January 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 October 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
5
reviewed by edward denby on 20 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 August 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2016
4
reviewed by Mickireland on 11 July 2015
5
reviewed by rabbithutch on 29 September 2013
5
reviewed by quattro_tdi on 29 June 2013
5
reviewed by MKate on 15 April 2013
5
reviewed by ahenry on 2 June 2012
5
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
5
reviewed by Laytown on 18 March 2012
5
reviewed by cyclops69 on 12 September 2011
5
reviewed by Robert in Portugal on 10 June 2011
4
reviewed by BenG on 31 March 2011
5
reviewed by Difference Engine on 20 February 2011
4

edge 1.6

reviewed by F-Focus on 5 December 2010
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Sound, Solid and easy to live with

Being a German Car Snob I never even thought about buying a focus my last two cars being an Audi A4 and an Audi A3 1.8 T Sport .

I went looking for an another Audi, then I spyed a mint condtion Ford Focus. It was Clear that whoever had owned it before have loved and cherished it with original matts and a more than full service history.

I test Drove it with low expections as it was 50 horses and a turbo less than i was used to ..but I could not fault it .

Now having lived with it for 6 months, I have grown to like it more and more . it has excellent road manners and you just point it in the direction you want to go and it gets there.

It is very comfortable on long journeys and will get to 0-70 without noise or complaint ,
fuel economy is excellent .I fill up far less than i used to

Touch wood on reliability i have not even had to add screen wash so far

Cost of servicing looks to be cheap compaired to what i have been used to paying.

The Only Down side is that i do not get a massive amount of excitement . there is no prestige. there is no satisfying whirring noise of a turbo kicking in, but on the plus side i do have more money in my bank account, I don't get back ache on a long journey and I never worry about where i park it.

I would happily Buy another one, but perhaps go for the 1.8 as a bit more poke in the fast lane would not go a miss, I might even splash out on the ST it depends how much closer i am to a mid life crisis .

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Robbie M on 3 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous