Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Ford Focus (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by John F on 29 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 January 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 October 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
5
reviewed by edward denby on 20 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 August 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2016
4
reviewed by Mickireland on 11 July 2015
5
reviewed by rabbithutch on 29 September 2013
5

1.8 TDCi Zetec Climate

reviewed by quattro_tdi on 29 June 2013
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the garage or specialist
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

6 years of trouble free driving pleasure

I owned a 2004 Mk 1 Focus 1.8 TDCi 115 Zetec Climate from 3 years old at 38k right up to 9 years old at 121k.

6 years of trouble free motoring. I replaced the two front coil springs and the selector on the top of the gearbox (let's not mention the fact that the Ford dealer wanted to fit a whole gearbox...). That was it. Regular servicing at the manufacturer's intervals (12k) along with the usual tyres and brake pads were the only expenses.

Worth noting that these cars tend to rust on the rear wheel arches as well as where the wing mirrors touch the door

Also, the flywheel can give trouble on these cars; how to spot this - start the car, then turn it off, a second after the engine stops if you hear a "clunk" noise that's the early stages of a flywheel wanting replaced. More noticeable when the engine is cold, but when the engine is warm and you can hear it, then it is getting worse. From what I'm aware this is likely to cost approximately £500-800.

In terms of economy, I used to average 47-50mpg depending on the roads. I can be quite a heavy footed driver when I like. 570 miles is doable on a tank with 525 being average. I know people that had the newer Mk2 focus (2005 to 2011) and they were surprised at the economy I could achieve - 400 to 450 being their average on a tank. Unfortnately the 1.6 TDCi in the newer Focus seems to be a dog, particularly if it is poorly serviced with the wrong oils.

The Focus is an excellent handling car, fun to chuck around on a twisty road, but comfortable for a motorway run - would put the Germans to shame in this department. Indeed a VAG mechanic drove the car for a day and was very surprised at how good it was. Very very comfortable seats and a good high-ish driving position. The 1.8 TDCi 115bhp is a nippy engine and relatively refined for the age of car. On a quiet winding road these cars put a big smile on your face. A great car.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by MKate on 15 April 2013
5
reviewed by ahenry on 2 June 2012
5
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
5
reviewed by Laytown on 18 March 2012
5
reviewed by cyclops69 on 12 September 2011
5
reviewed by Robert in Portugal on 10 June 2011
4
reviewed by BenG on 31 March 2011
5
reviewed by Difference Engine on 20 February 2011
4
reviewed by F-Focus on 5 December 2010
4
reviewed by Robbie M on 3 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous