Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Ford Focus (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by John F on 29 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 20 January 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 October 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
5
reviewed by edward denby on 20 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 August 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2016
4
reviewed by Mickireland on 11 July 2015
5
reviewed by rabbithutch on 29 September 2013
5
reviewed by quattro_tdi on 29 June 2013
5
reviewed by MKate on 15 April 2013
5
reviewed by ahenry on 2 June 2012
5
reviewed by toscano on 30 May 2012
5

LX 1.8 DI TDI 5 dr

reviewed by Laytown on 18 March 2012
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Does exactly what it says on the tin. No frills reliable transport.

We bought this car in May 2011, from a small non franchised dealer in UK for full time use in our home in southern France.

Its a right hand drive but we have lots of experience with driving our main family car on the continent over the years.

It had 137,000 odd miles on it with the timing belt (belt between the fuel injection pump and the camshaft) changed before we bought it. It had the all important full service history so I had no worries in buying what was a high mileage car.

I had been searching for the newer version of this older diesel engine, the TDCI version but all the examples I did see were quite tatty and had too many things broken or not working.

One of the main items we needed working was the air conditioning. It is brilliant, icy cold in the height of the summer in southern France.

In the nine or so months we had it over there; it has gained an additional 8,000 miles and has not put a foot wrong.

After leaving it standing outside for about three months, it started first time in the rain. I did note the alternator light was coming on after a few miles and would not go out.

Turned out it needed diodes changed, brushes being in good condition.

Local French Ford dealer wanted almost €500 to replace alternator but local mechanic put new diodes in for €80 and changed the glow plugs for another €60.

I drive about 10 miles into local town about three times a week and up to city, an hours drive, about once a month.

This antiquated diesel, not well spoken of by most car reviewers, still delivers over 51.5 MPG on average and best return, on a longish trip to Barcelona, was 59.4 MPG. Worst return was 44.7 after trashing it up the motorway with four on board.

I got 56 MPG from the drive down from Cherbourg to just past Toulouse when I brought it over.

No scorcher on the road, it nonetheless gets a move on when required. It sticks to the road well and is enjoyable to drive, long or short distances.

Servicing is cheap, oil change every 6,000 miles - haven't had it long enough for a more full service but parts for servicing are cheap enough here in France.

Needing a key to open the boot at all times (unless you remember to trigger the internal switch before you leave the car) can be a nuisance at times.

This version has the quickclear front windscreen and along with the excellent A/C, it was been needed in the cold recently.

All in all, no complaints from this high miler which adds weight to the already good reputation which this car has.

Oh, did I mention the icing on the cake? Diesel is only €1.41 per litre here in France and no car tax :-)

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by cyclops69 on 12 September 2011
5
reviewed by Robert in Portugal on 10 June 2011
4
reviewed by BenG on 31 March 2011
5
reviewed by Difference Engine on 20 February 2011
4
reviewed by F-Focus on 5 December 2010
4
reviewed by Robbie M on 3 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous