Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Vauxhall Astra (1998 - 2004)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 February 2020
2
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 30 May 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 July 2017
5

1.8 Sxi

reviewed by MTD on 22 March 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
5
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the garage or specialist
3
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Great car that I bought new in 2000

I have had this car for 15 years and am only saying goodbye to it as it's too small for a second car if you have 3 kids, I am tall and there is not enough room behind me for my daughters. You can't defy physics !

This car has proved extraordinarily well made, here is the list of what has failed in 15 years; one head lamp bulb. Yes, that is the sum total of what has actually broken on my car in 15 years.
All the other items that have been replaced have been due to wear and tear like tyres, cam belt change and pump, air con re gassed etc or preventative due to age and mileage like alternator and battery. I see many W reg Astras on the road in 2015 still, way more so than Ford Focus or Golfs of similar age. Very strange that it was built at the same time as Vectras which seemed very unreliable and now nearly extinct on the road.

Cheap to maintain, and when somebody kindly damaged it in a car park, new mirrors bumper and light were not too expensive to fix.

The 1.8 engine seems powerful because a Mk4 Astra is quite light by modern standards, and is good for overtaking as my boy racer days will attest (I drive like an old bloke now I have kids - it is true we all turn into our dads at some stage). Very good car to drive fast as it handles very well, though possibly a bit firm for some ( Sxi model had slightly lowered suspension and close ratio gearbox I believe )

Cabin is dull and basic by modern standards, but it's roomy, great seats, and great for 6ft 4" 17 stone types like myself.

Would now be my most recommended banger as you can get ones for a few hundred quid. Fuel economy is dipping down now due to car age and I have to do more urban driving, a diesel would be far better in this regard.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by DAZZAROONEY on 12 April 2013
3
reviewed by Nashx on 1 October 2012
4
reviewed by dougiefourspeed on 25 February 2012
5
reviewed by cherryred on 6 January 2012
4
reviewed by reddevilmad on 22 September 2010
4
reviewed by mhamed on 27 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Iulius
5
submitted by D. Stowe