Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Skoda Octavia (1998 - 2004)

5
reviewed by Westbury33 on 5 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 December 2017
5
reviewed by i3 Driver on 22 August 2015
4
reviewed by Len Brown on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by WilliamRead on 23 March 2013
4

1.9 TDi (90 BHP)

reviewed by Ed_Moses on 13 December 2012
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the garage or specialist
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

You may not love the Octavia but you will respect it. A prince of a vehicle.

Mileage covered 96,000
Very reliable.
The Octavia was serviced every 10,000 miles with fully synthetic oil used.

Items that failed under warranty.
Central locking boot controller
Fuel pump controller
(Both issues were due to faulty manufacture by Siemens, the PCB would warm up and expand thus breaking the electrical contact).

Unexpected item to replace.
Bosch Air mass unit. @ 65,000(You will know this by car's performance dropping off a cliff). THis was due to engine oil blow back causing it to fail and outside warranty.

Tyres.
45,000 out of the first and second set of tyres. (Firestone and Bridgestone).
Fuel consumption in city driving was 50.8 mpg

Handling
Excelllant for real world driving.
I went into an unexpected 90 degree bend at speed and the Octavia steered right through it, without any drama.
The ABS kicked off twice in 6 years due to ice.
A car really suited to country roads.
I came out with £200 more disposable income per month.
The only reason I sold the Skoda was due to the fact that there was no rear legroom behind the driver. The depreciation over 6 years was £6,000.
I have owned Mercedes Benz (W124 and W210) and VW in the meantime and none have matched the reliability of the Skoda nor the build quailty. They have not equalled the depreciation either.
The VW in one one year has cost me the same as the Skoda over it's lifetime with me.
I have recomended the Octavia as it does everything well.
Maybe not he best in class but very close.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Rhubarbcumble on 1 June 2011
4
reviewed by Jackdaw on 9 February 2011
4
reviewed by isvana on 7 June 2010
3
reviewed by Robbie M on 3 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by pokemaniac
 

Ask Honest John