Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Nissan Micra (1992 - 2003)

5
reviewed by Kevin Hamlinton on 9 September 2017
5
reviewed by nmcgreevy on 11 July 2016
5
reviewed by Darn It on 3 July 2015
5
reviewed by EDW2000 on 27 March 2015
5
reviewed by ShaunWith AU on 23 January 2015
3
reviewed by EDW2000 on 21 January 2015
4
reviewed by K Egerton on 15 January 2015
4
reviewed by K Egerton on 16 October 2014
5
reviewed by jasonk on 21 August 2014
4
reviewed by plmval on 23 May 2014
4
reviewed by zooooooom on 16 June 2013
3
reviewed by WS1A37 on 25 December 2012
5
reviewed by herbacious_harley_37 on 5 May 2012
4
reviewed by Ludwig on 13 November 2011
4
reviewed by starfield on 23 February 2011
5

1.0L

reviewed by macsbest on 2 December 2010
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the garage or specialist
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

The modern minor!

I bought the Micra after my 405TD developed an oil leak and I lost patience. It came to me after a family friend died in his 80's after having bought the car five years earlier. I paid £300 minus what it cost to put through an MOT (under £80) with it needing a few bulbs, wipers and number plates.

I had previously dismissed the K11 as gutless after previously driving a later coil pack engined car when I had a Volvo 240 which makes most small cars feel far too revvy. Now I am so impressed by the quality of the materials, design and manufacturer that few modern cars can match. They have 16v cam chain engines, a cheeky grin and very few problems. Those that do occur affect almost every car, thats what I call consistant quality! Headlight bulb fittings melt-New one £3, front crossmembers rust-replace bottom only as a bolt on without welding -£20, bulkheads leak - silicone - £3, heater fans run flat out only- new resistor- £20, rear lights leak - Same silicone!£0, Throttle body - resolder - £0! Beyond these items some with a sunroof do require sills as they drain into the void within, but generally its only the rear end that needs patching.

They have an image problem, being favourites with grandmothers! They are nethertheless great fun to drive and can be easily and cheaply tuned. The engine being a chain driven 16v DOHC giving 54bhp (40bhp at the wheels) can be tuned to give another 20% more for under £100 and more with the use of a lathe and a mill. The quality of the earlier cars appears better than the later ones which I can attest to as I also have a 98 1.3 GX. This gives 75bhp, which to put into perspective is the same as a Mini Cooper S!


I get 40mpg around town and 50mpg ona run if kept under 70 mph. Servicing which I do myself is easy and cheap without a cam belt to worry about. It will be staying, but taken off the road in Jan as my £90! 1.3 takes over for a few months.

These really are wonderfull cars that can be kept going for years with minimal cost. The earlier K10 models last just as well, but not as nimble. With it being made in britain it wears the crown of the modern minor as a moggie is now a "classic" and priced as such.

Buy one, you wont be disapointed!

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by supercity on 25 July 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Tim B
4
submitted by PortJac