Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Nissan Micra (1992 - 2003)

5
reviewed by Kevin Hamlinton on 9 September 2017
5
reviewed by nmcgreevy on 11 July 2016
5

1.0 L

reviewed by Darn It on 3 July 2015
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the garage or specialist
2
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Brilliant little car

We originally bought this Micra from a friend when it was 3 years old with 20k miles in 1996. We had in for 4.5 years by which time it had 65k on the clock. Apart from servicing which I did myself, it only needed a new clutch. The clutch is something of a weak spot but many cars will have had it replaced so less of an issue when buying now.

We then gave it to my Gran who used it less than once a week but kept it garaged and garage serviced every year. She did less than 200 miles some years. We got it back in late 2009. Having been offered £200 for it then we have kept it as a 3rd car especially using it for parking at the station etc.

In the 5 years we've had it back I've put 45k on it. I fix it when it goes wrong which seems to be about once a year although it often has items pointed out on the MOT as well. It has never actually broken down though we did leave the lights on once which needed the AA but not technically the car's fault.

Fixing it when it breaks is key as each fault is, individually, cost effective to fix. Having said that, the most expensive fault has been a brand new throttle body which cost £70 from Ebay. Parts for Micras are cheap - brake pads and disks £30 from Ebay, driveshaft from Eurocarpets was £40. Nearly all repairs have been expected items which could have gone wrong on a ten year old car never mind 22 years (starter, battery, exhaust sections, driveshaft tyres). I did have two wiring issues which were fixed for a £couple. It has always had 5k or yearly oil changes and this shows as the engine with 103k burns no oil and is very quiet.

I really like this car to drive - it's very easy. It doesn't have power steering but I view this as less to go wrong and remember when even big cars didn't have it. It is a very small car but as a 3rd car usually used with just a driver this isn't a problem for us.

It's been driven 150 miles in 33C and -5C temperatures without problem and has always started. Tax is £130ish as it predates the tax bands and it did 53mpg while averaging 70mph on a run this week. With the exception of rust everything that goes wrong with a Micra is likely to be cheap to fix - or the result of abuse by a previous owner so buy carefully. Buying any car over 5 years old means (much) less depreciation but more in repairs so Micras being simple is a good thing. Thoroughly recommended.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by EDW2000 on 27 March 2015
5
reviewed by ShaunWith AU on 23 January 2015
3
reviewed by EDW2000 on 21 January 2015
4
reviewed by K Egerton on 15 January 2015
4
reviewed by K Egerton on 16 October 2014
5
reviewed by jasonk on 21 August 2014
4
reviewed by plmval on 23 May 2014
4
reviewed by zooooooom on 16 June 2013
3
reviewed by WS1A37 on 25 December 2012
5
reviewed by herbacious_harley_37 on 5 May 2012
4
reviewed by Ludwig on 13 November 2011
4
reviewed by starfield on 23 February 2011
5
reviewed by macsbest on 2 December 2010
5
reviewed by supercity on 25 July 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Tim B
4
submitted by PortJac