Do you have a minute to answer an electric vehicle survey? Start the survey | No thanks

BMW 5-series E39 (1996 - 2003)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 June 2021
4
reviewed by expertad on 28 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 April 2019
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
5

530d SE Auto

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Running costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the garage or specialist
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Excellent Executive Saloon

Purchased this car with 30.000 miles and owned for several years as a taxi in a family run taxi business in which time I added 150,000 miles to the car taking it to 180,000 miles.

In those years all that was replaced was suspension - 170.000 and the handbrake was tightened at about 130.00. Other than that it was general servicing at my local BMW Specialist.

Over the years I averaged 41 miles per gallon (not bad for a big 3 litre diesel auto).

To drive the 530d was excellent, just like any BMW and the 6 cylinder smooth and fast. The interior felt extremely well put together and controls well positioned. My only criticism of the interior is that it wasn’t the most exciting design, it seemed very sensible and Germanic. But I liked how all the dash was positioned towards the driver - felt very sporty. The seats were very comfy and supportive and heated which was lovely.

The boot was a decent enough size but annoyingly didn’t have fold down as standard so I couldn’t make best use of the space the car offered.

Overall I believe the 530d e39 is one of the best cars I have ever bought due to its all round capabilities.

I originally wasn’t a BMW fan until I tried one and afterwards I have not looked back having now owned almost ten BMWs, all of which have been brilliant!

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by expertad on 3 November 2017
5
reviewed by John Graham on 22 June 2017
5
reviewed by smilleynially on 28 February 2016
5
reviewed by Tom H on 26 July 2013
4
reviewed by Dunbar on 3 May 2013
5
reviewed by Yellow belly on 1 September 2011
5
reviewed by ceramic bill on 12 July 2011
5
reviewed by mattg1234 on 16 May 2011

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Duncan Gafney
4
submitted by Surrey59
5
submitted by Anonymous