Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

BMW 3-series E46 (1998 - 2005)

5
reviewed by Duncan Gafney on 18 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 November 2018
5
reviewed by jim edgar on 18 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anthony Cope on 3 November 2017
4
reviewed by Jonathan Wells on 29 November 2016
5
reviewed by gleadam on 3 October 2016
5

320d SE Touring

reviewed by De Sisti on 21 February 2016
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Running costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the garage or specialist
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Nice to drive (ignoring the horror stories on BMW forums)

I bought the car from my sister, who had it from new and gave it lots of tlc. I had an ultra reliable SEAT Arosa beforehand and agonised about selling it, but managed to do so in the same week as I bought the BMW.

I did some research prior to buying the BMW and had the swirl flaps blanked asap. The only other big issue was the heated rear window. That cost a lot more than I wanted to pay, but as the car was in excellent condition, I decided to go ahead and have it replaced.

I drive sedately and get around 45 mpg in town and 55 on the motorway. Had an Inspection II in Feb 2013 for £210. Feb 2014, mot, oil and filter changes, wheel re-alignment for £228.

The car was over £35,000 new, I bought it for £2500 @93,000 miles. It's on 99,900 at the moment and drives very well. I use an independant garage instead of the nearby main dealer.

So, what's had to be done for this 12 year old car?

Swirl flaps blanked,
New vacuum pipe,
New heated rear window (plus spindle and button),
Rear brake pipes,
New engine breather,
New air con tension belt.

Regular oil changes (5,000 miles) and not thrashing the car are keys to reliability (and long term ownership for me).

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by pbirl on 7 February 2015
4
reviewed by enfield007 on 28 August 2014
1
reviewed by richalbin on 5 June 2014
5
reviewed by jm1 on 9 December 2013
4
reviewed by smartweasel on 29 October 2013
4
reviewed by AJPM on 6 June 2013
5
reviewed by Will Green on 20 April 2013
5
reviewed by Tom S-S on 21 January 2013
3
reviewed by pieeater on 28 December 2012
4
reviewed by maddicksman on 28 October 2012
2
reviewed by 320touring on 17 July 2012
2
reviewed by 320touring on 17 July 2012
2
reviewed by ploddit on 28 May 2012
3
reviewed by RupertRocks on 17 October 2011
3
reviewed by RupertRocks on 17 October 2011
4
reviewed by 01884* on 22 March 2011
5
reviewed by fady on 18 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Surrey59
5
submitted by Anonymous