Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

BMW 3-series E46 (1998 - 2005)

5
reviewed by Duncan Gafney on 18 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 November 2018
5
reviewed by jim edgar on 18 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anthony Cope on 3 November 2017
4
reviewed by Jonathan Wells on 29 November 2016
5
reviewed by gleadam on 3 October 2016
5
reviewed by De Sisti on 21 February 2016
3
reviewed by pbirl on 7 February 2015
4
reviewed by enfield007 on 28 August 2014
1
reviewed by richalbin on 5 June 2014
5
reviewed by jm1 on 9 December 2013
4
reviewed by smartweasel on 29 October 2013
4
reviewed by AJPM on 6 June 2013
5
reviewed by Will Green on 20 April 2013
5
reviewed by Tom S-S on 21 January 2013
3
reviewed by pieeater on 28 December 2012
4
reviewed by maddicksman on 28 October 2012
2
reviewed by 320touring on 17 July 2012
2
reviewed by 320touring on 17 July 2012
2
reviewed by ploddit on 28 May 2012
3

Convertible 330 M Sport Step

reviewed by RupertRocks on 17 October 2011
3
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
2
Running costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the garage or specialist
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Awesome car... beware of the repair bills after 10 years old though

I bought my 2002 330 M Sport convertible because I wanted something more luxurious and large/safe for longer journies after owning two MX-5's.

I totally loved my BMW, it was safe, very luxurious and really incredible to drive. I had people commenting on how lovely it looked all the time, even though it didn't cost an incredible sum, (£8200 in 2009) it definitely turned heads!

Considering the engine size my mpg was pretty good, 27mpg whilst doing 60 miles per day and 35mpg on a long trip.

What signalled the end of my ownership was the repair bills. The car didn't ever break down, but there always seemed to be a light on the dash indicating some problem or other. I worked out recently that I have spent £2,500 in 18 months of ownership on repairs (inc. 4 new tyres). This included suspension polybushes, rocker cover gasket repair, air con repair after the main a/c pipe snapped in two(!) and other bills, all of which I cannot recall.

To sum it up I have so much love for this car it really is awesome but I think you should think twice before buying a luxury older car such as this as. Buying them now, they are pretty cheap, but owning this after a nearly new MX-5 was a wake up call!

Although driving it is a great experience, once you take in to account repairs bills, wide low pro tyres, high road tax bracket and high insurance, keeping it on the road is very very expensive.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by RupertRocks on 17 October 2011
4
reviewed by 01884* on 22 March 2011
5
reviewed by fady on 18 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Surrey59
5
submitted by Anonymous