Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

BMW 3-Series (1991 - 1998)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 June 2019
5
reviewed by Imogenweaver on 27 July 2017
5
reviewed by mart37 on 15 October 2016
5
reviewed by chrisbwray on 4 April 2015
5
reviewed by chrisbwray on 4 April 2015
5
reviewed by JTallodi on 7 November 2014
5
reviewed by benjohnson66 on 13 January 2014
5
reviewed by benjohnson66 on 22 December 2013
5
reviewed by Spiro on 18 December 2012
5
reviewed by Spiro on 18 December 2012
5
reviewed by Norwayboy on 6 July 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 June 2012
5
reviewed by Diamond dawg on 29 February 2012
5
reviewed by e36318iscope on 6 January 2012
5
reviewed by Love4GermanMotor on 30 December 2011
5
reviewed by misty2011 on 16 October 2011
5
reviewed by lturner on 25 April 2011
5
reviewed by lturner on 25 April 2011
5

316i Coupe

reviewed by DimitrisR on 3 March 2011
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Running costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Dream car...

i had the luck to own a BMW E36 '95 model. it was the 1.6 engine model so i had the low running costs but lack of performance (compared to the rest of the E36 family models).

in my opinion the strongest part of the car is the driving feeling. the car is just amazing to drive. both in city and especially on long trips. its extremely stable even near its top speed and also the overtaking takes just seconds (i can imagine the bigger engines must be even greater). though this car is not good only in straight road but its fantastic in curves as well. my best time with it was a trip in highlands in B-roads.. i still have the smile on my face!

the E36 is great for everyday life since it has very good space (considering its a coupe) and folding seats for even more space. the cabin is spacious for the driver and the co-driver and OK for the rear passengers. the access to the back seats is ok although older people will find it a bit difficult.

i had to think really hard to find a downside and the only thing i can say is that the opening of the boot is kind of small if you want to load big objects (tried to put a table when i moved to another flat) and the consumption could be kind of high if u squeeze the right pedal as I do. in the worst case i had around 30mpg.(i would rate it with 4.9 but there is not such option)

as for the reliability the BMW E36 is sound. the only expenses I had were fuel and windscreen washing liquid and of course the services. i only had to replace a wheel bearing which was an age fault. overall if you take care of it you will never have problems.

i had to sell it due to loss of job but i am looking forward for my next BMW E36. i would recommended it more than any other car (even more than a new BMW). BMW E36 is just a dream car...

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by alexlex85 on 27 May 2010
4
reviewed by Toyota Red on 24 May 2010
5
reviewed by Steve Watson on 11 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Duncan Gafney
4
submitted by Surrey59