Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

BMW 3-Series (1991 - 1998)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 June 2019
5
reviewed by Imogenweaver on 27 July 2017
5
reviewed by mart37 on 15 October 2016
5
reviewed by chrisbwray on 4 April 2015
5
reviewed by chrisbwray on 4 April 2015
5
reviewed by JTallodi on 7 November 2014
5
reviewed by benjohnson66 on 13 January 2014
5
reviewed by benjohnson66 on 22 December 2013
5
reviewed by Spiro on 18 December 2012
5
reviewed by Spiro on 18 December 2012
5
reviewed by Norwayboy on 6 July 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 June 2012
5
reviewed by Diamond dawg on 29 February 2012
5
reviewed by e36318iscope on 6 January 2012
5

316i AUTO

reviewed by Love4GermanMotor on 30 December 2011
5
Overall rating
3
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
3
Running costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the garage or specialist
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Nice looks, Nice reliable engine, but faulty sensors (ABS, ASC, airbag) and faulty climate control.

When i first test drove this car, it was a delight. Nothing was wrong with it, did all the checks.

Then the day i drove it home, on the motorway, the airbag warning light, ABS (anti-lock brakes) and ASC (traction control) lights came on, and i did some research online afterwards to find that its a common fault with E36 for the sensors to fail and make the lights come up.

The other problem which is very common is with the faulty climate control unit - it works a bit then stops, it costs around £300 to replace.

Apart from that, my car has full service history, has 103k miles on it, and drives superbly when the acceleration is not considered.

As its a 1.6L it struggles with acceleration up hills, and even on normal roads when your foot is put down, it takes some time to go faster, but makes more noise.


I bought the 316i because im 17, i love BMWs, always have, and wanted one for my first car - as we all know, insurance is incredibly high and its impossible to insure anything over 1.6L so it was my only option. Even a 1.4L VW Polo could out accelerate this.

Insurance is NOT cheap for me --> £6,000
Tax is NOT cheap --> £205 per year
Repairs and parts are EXPENSIVE.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by misty2011 on 16 October 2011
5
reviewed by lturner on 25 April 2011
5
reviewed by lturner on 25 April 2011
5
reviewed by DimitrisR on 3 March 2011
5
reviewed by alexlex85 on 27 May 2010
4
reviewed by Toyota Red on 24 May 2010
5
reviewed by Steve Watson on 11 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Top speed-
0-60-
Power-

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Duncan Gafney
4
submitted by Surrey59