Selling your classic car? It's FREE to list your car on Honest John Classics | No thanks

Bright spark rewarded

20 March 1979

On this day British Leyland worker, Steve Mason, employed at Pressed Steel Fisher in Oxford, suggests an idea which will save the firm more than £15,000 a year and is duly rewarded with a cheque for £1,250 for the suggestion, involving a reinforcement plate for the Marina underframe.

More news from the archive

Wed, 14 Feb 1979
THE GUARDIAN Leyland hit by another stoppage A new strike yesterday hit Leyland cars , already suffering multi-million pound losses...
Thu, 15 Feb 1979
DAILY EXPRESS IN GO THE MEN AT LONGBRIDGE OUT GO THE MEN AT SOLIHULL By Declan Cunningham The strike by 18,000 car workers at British...
Mon, 26 Feb 1979
THE LEDGER, USA LABOUR'S WOES IN THE UK By Robert D. Hershey Jr BIRMINGHAM, England - A soggy blue and white British Leyland banner...
Thu, 15 Mar 1979
DAILY EXPRESS 5 STAR MEN OF LEYLAND By Ray Heath The brickbats normally handed out to British Leyland car workers were replaced with...
Sat, 17 Mar 1979
THE GUARDIAN LEYLANDS 'SHAM' ATTACKED Senior Leyland shop stewards yesterday described the car firm's joint decision-making group...
Wed, 04 Apr 1979
DAILY EXPRESS LEYLAND RIDES INTO A ROW By Gordon Ogilvie and David Jack The wooing of Japan by British Leyland's bosses ran into a...
Thu, 05 Apr 1979
GLASGOW HERALD Strike Chaos Looms Again At Leyland British Leyland last night faced the grim prospect of an indefinite strike by from...
Fri, 06 Apr 1979
DAILY EXPRESS CAR CHIEF : YOU'LL LOSE By Barry Devney Leyland may never recover if a threatened strike by skilled workers goes ahead...
Sat, 07 Apr 1979
DAILY EXPRESS SKILLED toolmaker Roy Fraser, the man urging,strike chaos at Leyland, earned £76 this week. The same as a workmate who...
Sun, 08 Apr 1979
DAILY EXPRESS Meanwhile all British Leyland's factories will open tomorrow in an attempt to carry on as normal despite the move by...
 

Ask Honest John